About Jeonju

History of Jeonju

A county town of Jeollabukdo, located at 35° 53' north and 127° 14' east, Jeonju City is surrounded in all directions by the seven peaks of the Noryeong ranges, including Girinbong Peak, Mt. Godeok, Mt. Namgo, Mt. Moak, and Wansan.
Built on the alluvial soil of the Jeonju River, most of downtown Jeonju is generally even and gently slopes in a northwesterly direction.

Jeonju River originates from the watershed bordering the Gwanchon plain, 26km southeast of downtown Jeonju, and penetrates the heart of the city from the southeast. The Samcheon River, originating from the borderline between Imsil County, Unam-myeon and Wanju County, Gui-myeon, cuts through farmlands to the west of Jeonju from south to north, eventually joining the Mangyeong River.

The Soyang River, originating from Gomchi, passes through the northeastern border of the city to join the Jeonju River.

History of Jeonju

Age of Three Hans
3rd century: belonged to Mahan
Age of Three Kingdoms
AD 685 (5th year of King Sinmun): Named Wansanju
AD 757 (16th year of King Gyeongdeok): Renamed Jeonju
AD 892 (6th year of King Jinseong): Declared the capital of Post Baekje
Goryeo Dynasty
AD 936: Post Baekje fell
AD 983 (2nd year of King Seongjong): Establishment of Jeonjumok
AD 1005 (8th year of King Mokjong): Appointment of Jeonju Jeoldosa (similar to governor)
Joseon Dynasty
1392 (1st year of King Taejo): Named Wansan Yusubu
1403 (3rd year of King Taejong): Named Jeonjub
1728 (4th year of King Yeongjo): Appointed Jeolla Gwanchalsa (similar to governor)
1896 (33rd year of King Gojong): Declared the County Town of Jeollabukdo
Modern Age
1914: Establishment of Jeonju-myeon
1931: Jeonju-myeon raised to Jeonju-eup
1935: Jeonju-eup raised to Jeonju-bu / Wanju County separated
1949: Renamed Jeonju City, according to the enforcement of the Local Autonomy Act
1989: Establishment of Wansan-gu and Deokjin-gu